The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm [ENG]

Title: The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm

 

Author: Christopher Paolini 

 

Publisher: Penguin Books

 

Publication date: 2019

 

Sinopsis: Relish the incomparable imagination of Christopher Paolini in this thrilling new collection of stories based in the world of the Inheritance Cycle.

 

It's been a year since Eragon departed Alagaesia in search of the perfect home to train a new generation of Dragon Riders. Now he is struggling with an endless sea of tasks: constructing a vast dragonhold, wrangling with suppliers, guarding dragon eggs and dealing with belligerent Urgals and haughty elves. Then a vision from the Eldunari, unexpected visitors and an exciting Urgal legend offer a much-needed distraction and a new perspective. 

 

book review

Where shall I start talking about what’s going on inside my head?

 

When I found out that Paolini was returning to Alagaësia, I felt an explosion of multiple feelings... I wanted to meet the characters again, I was very excited to read them again, but at the same time I felt restless and sceptical as I was wondering if it wouldn’t have been a good idea to keep the open ending of “Inheritace”, so that everyone could imagine whatever they liked the most…

 

Mixa reading Eldest
Mixa reading Eldest

Going back to this world of fantasy has been an emotional roller coaster for me, because I grew up as a person and as a reader with Christopher Paolini’s books. Eragon was the first book of more than 500 pages I read when I was about six or seven years old, and I remember myself feeling thrilled while following the series.

 

"The fork, the witch and the dragon" is full of references to characters and specific moments of the Inheritance cycle, so I spent the whole time remembering and gasping because of the excitement. I enjoyed the short stories, I felt intrigued and I am already dying to know more about all these characters I loved so much.

 

Yes, I should warn you that whenever you finish reading this book you’ll feel the unstoppable need to plunder bookshops and libraries in order to find for the next part. But right now there’s... nothing, zero. I believe the term that best defines the complexity of this feeling is "aaaaaaahhhhhhh!!!" 

 

According to Paolini, he had always dreamed of returning to Alagaësia with a larger novel, but this has been a great experience. He says that writing about Eragon and Saphira after so many years has been like going back home after a long journey. In addition, he claims he has finally shown himself he is capable of writing a book under 500 pages long. ;-D

 

Is it possible to feel more outraged and happier at the same time? ^. ^ No, I definitely can’t stand still after finding out there’re characters looking for answers to mysteries, or after reading a quick mention to Arya on an isolated paragraph, or after hearing Spahira’s voice once again inside of my head... That. Can. Not. Be. It. XD

 

But let's put aside the fangirl inside of me (just for a second, huh?) so I can analyse the book.

 

The Inheritance Cycle (Catalan edition)

 

Returning to Alagaësia has been a pleasant and balsamic experience: I have enjoyed again Paolini's poetic and leisurely style. On the other hand, the book itself is a bit chaotic because it intertwines Eragons’ episodes with the experiences of other characters, a memoir (written by Paolini’s sister) and an ancient legend. It isn’t easy to assimilate everything as you fight your feelings and search for bits of information about your favourite characters.

 

Yes, I must admit that I was suffering while reading the last story (the longest and most different of them all). XP Right now, keeping things in perspective, I believe the message of "The Worm of Kulkaras" is quite valuable. It’s not the only message, though. 

 

Christopher Paolini
Christopher Paolini

Eragon and Angela, for example, debate about the meaning of wisdom. Is it preventing yourself from making the same mistakes? But does a lonely turtle that live under a rock for one hundred years learn anything?

 

It feels kind of weird that just a year gone by in Alagaësia since the end of “Inheritance”. I would’ve liked to see a greater evolution in Eragon’s project, but at the same time I related myself to the character, because he’s not the only one who’s busy! As Glaedr tells him, we must learn to focus, because there’re so many things that we can’t control. Anyway, knowing and doing so are very different things.

 

In a nutshell, although this book could (maybe) be read independently, I recommend it to the Legacy Cycle fandom. Of course, as the Spanish singer Karina would sing, Paolini has opened "the trunk of memories (ooohhh)" and has the fan’s hearts in his hands. He’ll have to be soooo careful.

 

Anyway, do you know the most magical thing? The day I got "The fork, the witch and the dragon" I found a man reading "Eragon"  on the subway ... Casuality? I don’t think so. ;-) 

 

Mx


ATTENtion!

 

Do you want to meet Christopher Paolini?

He'll come to Barcelona on 18th March (7pm) at Pangea (Rambla Catalunya, 23) Fill the form on this website and don't lose your chance!



Write a comment

Comments: 0