The Shepherd's crown [ENG]

Title: The Shepherd's crown

 

Author: Terry Pratchett

 

Publisher: Random House Children's Publishers UK

 

Publication date: 2016

 

Synopsis: A shivering of worlds. Deep in the Chalk, something is stirring. The owls and the foxes can sense it, and Tiffany Aching feels it in her boots. An old enemy is gathering strength.

 

This is a time of endings and beginnings, old friends and new, a blurring of edges and a shifting of power. Now Tiffany stands between the light and the dark, the good and the bad.

 

As the fairy horde prepares for invasion, Tiffany must summon all the witches to stand with her. To protect the land. Her land.

 

There will be a reckoning...

 

Book Review

Today is the world’s second year without Sir Terry Pratchett, and as a tribute to him I finally bring you my review of the last Discworld book. I finished reading “The Shepherd’s Crown” on my birthday and I was deeply moved. I knew this was going to be a hard read but I really enjoyed it. It’s impossible not to!

 

I believe the Onion Fairy was quite overwhelmed with so many Pratchett fans to visit all around the world, but she took the time to come to my house as well. Yes, I admit it, I cried a lot.

 

I know the book didn’t get to meet the rigorous perfection standards to which Pratchett submitted all his novels and maybe it’s true that I felt there were a few more scenes and entire pages missing in order to develop the plot and the characters, but for me this has been the perfect ending without any doubt. (Mini spoiler) I started reading Discworld when I was eight years old hand in hand with Eskarina from “Equal Rites” (the story of a little girl who wanted to be a wizard) and ended with Geoffrey (a boy who wants to be a witch) a great character I would have loved to know more about. 

 

Personally, I wouldn’t recommend starting Discworld with this book because you wouldn’t understand all the winks to previous novels and you wouldn’t feel the farewells so deeply.

 

Nevertheless, despite the tears and the emotion, I’m no longer sad when I think of “The Shepherd’s Crown”. In fact, every time I remember that this is the last book from the series I can’t stop thinking how soon I’m going to plunge into the previous adventures from the collection. The wonderful and funny world of Discworld will never cease to amaze me!

 

Moreover, Pratchett’s legacy is more alive than ever! New short stories books, big and small screen productions of his work, theatre adaptations… The same way as a man is not dead while his name is still spoken, a series is never really finished as long as its fans keep rediscovering it day by day!

 

Thank you for everything, Pratchett, and long live Discworld!

 

#GNUTerryPratchett #Speakhisname

 

 

Mx


Write a comment

Comments: 0